23 grudnia 2018

IUAES2019: call for papers, round tables, workshops and films is open!

23 grudnia 2018 | Agata Stanisz

The International Union of Anthropological and Ethnological Sciences (IUAES), the Department of Ethnology and Cultural Anthropology at the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan (Poland) and the Polish Ethnological Society, are pleased to invite you to the IUAES 2019 Inter-Congress „World Solidarities”, which will be hosted on 27-31 August 2019 in Poznań, Poland.

You are kindly invited to submit your proposals of:

■             Papers (to be presented in one of the accepted panels): https://www.iuaes2019.org/paper-guidelines/

■             Round tables: https://www.iuaes2019.org/round-tables-guidelines/

■             Workshops: https://www.iuaes2019.org/workshop-guidelines/

■             Films and audio-visual proposals: https://www.iuaes2019.org/film-audiovisual-proposals-guidelines/


The deadline to submit your proposals is 15 February 2019.


The organizers of the Inter-Congress are currently seeking funding to provide conference fee waivers and reimbursement of travel costs for scholars from the most economically disadvantaged countries.

Join us on https://www.facebook.com/iuaes2019 to follow the news related to the IUAES 2019 Inter-Congress.

The organisation of the IUAES 2019 Inter-Congress in Poland, Bronislaw Malinowski’s homeland, is also the way to celebrate the centennial of the Department of Ethnology and Cultural Anthropology at the University in Poznan. Currently, the Polish government has made an attempt to remove anthropology and ethnology from the list of officially recognised scientific disciplines and hide it under a strange label of “cultural and religious studies”. In a sense, your participation in the IUAES 2019 Inter-Congress will be an act of your solidarity with Polish colleagues in their fight for acknowledgment of the discipline. See the letter of support sent by the IUAES and the WCAA.

We are looking forward to meeting you in Poznan in August 2019.

IUAES 2019 Organising Committee